Walter Walker's tack hammer?

crosscuts

Crosscuts
The nice cover photo of Walter Walker setting canoe tacks in the 70's shows him using a hammer that resembles a cobbler's hammer with a wide rounded face. It appears to be heavier than 7 oz. The broad rounded face should break the fibers of the planking surface less than a sharp edged hammer. Has anyone used this type of hammer? Does anyone know where one could be found other then flea markets and garage sales?

Thanks, R.C.

I've been using an Osborne leatherworkers hammer for several years now, and it is very similar to the one shown on the cover of Wooden Canoe, but just a bit larger. I bought mine new in Seattle at Hardwick's (a great hardware store to get lost in for a few hours when in the U district of Seattle!). It set me back quite a bit of money, but it was worth the investment. Doing a quick search just now on eBay I found several listed with no bids yet. You can also see Osborne hammers at their website at http://www.csosborne.com/l-hammers_1.htm

If you're on a budget, you could probably achieve the same thing by rounding off the head of a standard-sized claw hammer with a grinder, then buff to a smooth finish.

The only drawback of the round head that I've found is that you have to quickly learn where the sweet spot in it is - because it's rounded, hitting a tack on the edge of the hammer face tends to drive the tack in crooked!

Last edited:
It is a pretty special hammer. Walter carved his own design and had it cast. It is the result of many Peterborough canoe builder’s attempt over the years to make a better hammer for use on soft cedar planking. It is about 12 to 13 oz in weight. As Pat Chapman points out, the round head takes a little time to get used to.

Dick Persson
Headwater Wooden Boat Shop

R.C.
Check out cobblers hammers on Ebay. There are several that would fill the bill.