Thomas Gordon Canoe

Glen Smith

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I have been building cedar strip canoes and kayaks for the past 8 years and this summer I took the bait! I visited my mother's cousin in Metis Beach, Quebec and he had an old canoe he didn't want to keep. Somebody gave it to him about 40 or 50 years ago in fairly bad condition. He kept it stored out of the elements with the intention of restoring it someday but that day never came. Now, it is my turn to ponder over the feasability of this project.

It is a wideboard (3 planks per side), rib and batten canoe.

According to Dick Persson this canoe is at least 104 years old but unfortunately, Thomas Gordon build records are inexistant and he did not make use serial numbers. I have stored the canoe for the winter while I gather information about how I should best go about either restoring the canoe or building a "replica" of it.

This is a link to the photos I have taken of the canoe. All comments, suggestions and questions are welcome.

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v427/glenkayak/Gordon Canoe/

Glen Smith.
Baie-St-Paul,
Quebec, Canada

Glen,

Yes, it's rough, but that's a cool canoe and anything is restorable. In case you haven't already seen his work, check out R.C. Cross's restoration. In a thread started by Bill Purcell, R.C. shows before and after photos of a once very rough canoe similar in construction to your Gordon (Bill's restoration was also very nice!). The thread is here:

http://forums.wcha.org/showthread.php?t=3117

The one-piece decks are nice, and indicative of an older canoe (not unexpected, given that Gordon was building canoes in the 1850s). Also, do you have what appears to be a builder's plate that was once attached to the deck? Would love to see it. And could you post a shot that shows the profile of the thwarts in your Gordon?

Michael

Hi Michael, yes it is VERY rough!!! I was looking at that restoration (R.C. Cross) just last night, very nice job.