re-canvas question

patrick corry

solo canoeist
I'm recanvassing an Island Falls 15. It's my first time canvassing a canoe. I have the canoe in the canvas "envelope", the canvas is nicely stretched, the canoe has approximately 150# of weight distributed evenly (there's no ceiling from which to mount shores to push the canoe into the canvas).

The canvas is nicely taut everywhere with the exception of just behind both stems. Where the canvas departs from the stems the canvas has no wrinkles. From the base of the stems, and extending about 36" along the bottom, there is a ridge of canvas held away from the planking by about 1/2" and tapering to zero at each end. In the accompanying photo you will see it within the box I've drawn onto the photo.

I'm assuming that once I've attached the canvas to the point where the "ridge" of canvas begins, I can slightly relax the come-along enough to allow me to pull the canvas up to the gunwale sufficiently to remove these ridges. The thoughts of veteran canvassers will be appreciated. Thanks.

fullsizeoutput_1752.jpeg

I am an upside down type of guy, but first off I would suggest longer clothes pins. They should extend the width of the canvas envelope. I use pieces of clamped 1x or 2x4's and snug them up to the face of the stems.

When you start attaching the canvas to the rail, start in the middle of the canoe and alternate sides and go toward both ends. Only go as far as about the edge of the decks before taking it off the stretcher. You can also use some "cheater" staples in the side of the hull in that area to pull the canvas tight to the planking while you secure the stems and the rest of the rails beyond the edge of the deck. Pull the cheaters out when you are done. I think you are right in that by the time you pull the canvas tight beyond the edge of the deck, the pucker will disappear.

Keep us posted.

Fitz

Thanks Fitz for your reply.