Name my Canoe

DaveL.

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hi, my name is Dave and I am new to the canoe world. Recently I picked up a canoe at a local antique dealer and now I'm hooked. I was wondering if any of you could tell me more about my canoe as I know little or nothing about them. I have very little information to give at this point and some partial pictures of the canoe aswell. The canoe was bought in northern New hampshire and there is a brass plate on the inside lip of the canoe which contains four numbers. The canoe is approximately 17.5 ft long and is canvas covered. I was told the canoe may be a Williams Canoe but the person did not know for sure. Any information that any of you could provide as to the maker, location where it was made, age, etc. would be wonderful. Here are some pictures and thanks in advance!

view.php

view.php

I vote Morris also.

There is a screw in every rib for the keel and the closed gunnel construction with shape of the top and outwale is exactly like a Morris.

Looks to be in great shape.

Paul

Thanks for all your help, B.N. Morris does seem to fit. A few more questions, what is this canoe worth, I know nothing about these and paid 650 because i liked it. Did I get worked over or is that fair? The canoe seems to be in good shape, though the seats need to be recaned, it is missing the middle support and there is crackling in the exterior paint. She does float as seen in the pictures with no leaks and was a whole lot of fun to use. Finally, where is the best place to have something like this restored or freshened up as I would like to have this as a useable show piece (preferably in the RI, MA, NH area). Also, is there any way to find out the exact age of the canoe? Thanks for the prompt responses and all your help.

-Dave

Dave - Welcome!
My friend Kathy and I are doing research on B.N. Morrises. We are trying to establish a more accurate dating method.