Help getting our "new" boat on the water?

Knu

Curious about Wooden Canoes
We recently purchased a wood/fiberglass (presumably canvas originally) canoe through Craigslist. The family we bought it from had purchased the canoe 2nd hand more than 40 years ago. They fiberglassed the boat and added (replaced?) seats.

When we tested it out, it floats but does take on a bit of water which we would like to remedy.

I have some experience working on boats, mainly through helping the the building of a couple plywood/fiberglass kayaks a few years ago.

In general, the boat seems to be in good condition. Eventually, I dream of restoring it to canvas, but for now, we want to get it to functionality as soon as possible. There are some visible cracks (with visible wood) in the fiberglass exterior as well as some spots of visible fiberglass through the wood interior.

Is there a good way to patch it up without stripping it all down and starting over?

If anyone has thoughts on how to get this boat seaworthy that would be fantastic. Like I said, a full on restoration may lie ahead in the future but I don't have the time or energy to dive in fully right now.
P1000337.jpg

P1000339.jpg

P1000347.jpg

P1000344.jpg

P1000345.jpg

P1000341.jpg

Fastest / easyest

If you just want to get on the water quick and easy I would get some marine
epoxy or even some five minute epoxy from the hardware.

Mix it up and spread it on the bad spots, outside only, you don't want to put any epoxy on the interior of the hull.

You don't even have to paint it, just go paddleing.

Good luck.