Good smaller tandem for solo?

revcp

Enthusiastic about Wooden Canoes
Hi, All
I am a pastor in Minnesota, and found out just a few days ago that I have been awarded funding for a sabbatical from the Lilly Foundation's Clergy Renewal Program. The first six weeks of the sabbatical will be spent on the water (three weeks solo in the BWCA, then three weeks with a friend in the Quetico) before six weeks traveling with my wife and boys.

I use my 1928 OT 18' Otca for 2 person trips (and in spite of it not being built as a tripping canoe, it's a GREAT tripping canoe), but it's of course not a good choice for paddling solo. So I'm in the market for a smaller wood canvas. I plan on getting a tandem that's versatile, because paddling close to home with my wife will be easier with a smaller and lighter craft, and when we do trips as a family we can have both canoes. My upper end on pricing is about $2,200.

I'm looking at a Cheemaun built by urbanboatbuilders in St. Paul (from a form loaned to them by Robin Thurlow). I'm also trying to get a response back from someone who has a 15' Will Ruch canoe on Craigslist. Any other suggestions either generally, i.e. model, or specifically, i.e. a canoe your are selling or that know is for sale?

Thanks, all! Looking forward to getting responses!

Last edited:
The Cheemaun, at 15 ft....or the Will Ruch 15 fter....either will make for a great solo tripping canoe....

Cheemaun Specifications:
~ Length......... 15 ft.
~ Depth.......... 12"
~ Beam........... 35"
~ Bow Height..... 20 1/2"
~ Weight......... 62 lbs.

Will Ruch canoe:
15' width at gunnel 31"
width at 4" waterline 32"
depth 13"
slight rocker
weight 45-55 pounds
15' available in solo version

The Cheemaun will be wider at 35 inches (and the plans I have for the Cheemaun from The Wood & Canvas Canoe states length as 15'2") and is described on Rollin's website as: