Canoe Patents

Benson Gray

Canoe History Enthusiast
Staff member
I got a Penobscot Indian pack basket for Christmas that was made by Albert J. Nicola of Enfield, Maine as shown at http://i.ebayimg.com...3.JPG with "Pat. Pending" stamped on it. There didn't seem to be anything particularly unusual about this pack basket so I went searching at http://www.google.com/patents to see if a patent was ever actually issued for it. I didn't find one but did discover several interesting canoe patents as attached and described below.

The first one is the patent for the Penobscot Canoe Company's "NOTACRACK" model and unique deck from Old Town, Maine in 1916 as shown at http://www.wcha.org/catalogs/pecaco/notacrac.jpg from their catalog.

The second one is for the Thompson Brother's Boat Manufacturing Company's canoe form improvements from Wisconsin in 1919.

The third one is for the Haskelite Manufacturing Corporation's veneer canoes from Michigan in 1919.

The fourth one is for an unusual canoe awning from Massachusetts near the Charles River area in 1907.

The fifth one is for an early canoe trailer for motor vehicles from Colorado in 1921.

The sixth one is for invisible sponsons from C. B. Thatcher of Bangor, Maine in 1908.

Benson

Attachments

• 1195727_CANOE.pdf
    235.9 KB · Views: 476
  • 1323125_A_COBPOBATION_OF_WIS.pdf
    342.4 KB · Views: 465
  • 1298042_BOAT_AND_CANOE.pdf
    323.1 KB · Views: 432
  • 872088_CANOE_AWNING.pdf
    165.6 KB · Views: 486
  • 1376496_CANOE_TRAILER_FOR_MOTOR_VEHICLES.pdf
    87.2 KB · Views: 496
  • 883588_INVISIBLE_AIR_CHAMBER_AND_SPONSON.pdf
    101.6 KB · Views: 469
Last edited:
Is Thatcher considered the inventor of the invisible sponson? I know Kennebec (and others) eventually offered them, but Kennebec's early sponsons were hardly invisible! I'm wondering if Thatcher invented them and they weren't offered by other builders until after Thatcher went out of business.

Am I correct that White invented sponsons?