Are Strippers Really That Fragile?

algale

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Today I had an exchange with the leader of a local canoe club who advised me that my "cedar bark" canoe might be ok on flat water but would be destined to disintegrate on any river. When I explained that it was actually a cedar/fiberglass composite, the leader explained the fiberglass canoes "go crunch" on rocks. Mind you, these trips are Class 1 and Class 2 at worst!

I'm new to this stripper business and a novice paddler. I never thought my canoe was going to be indestructible like a royalex and do not intend to run any Class 3 or higher rapids with it, but am I to understand that these canoes are really that fragile?? This canoe was built with 6 oz S glass -- with an extra football layer on both the outside and the inside.

Me thinks you need a new leader. Its not the material that counts its the construction. No they are not that fragile. Like you alluded to with the extra footballs,that adds strength.

Here is a birchbark http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=55CdYJW3zfo

Millbrook Boats builds whitewater canoes. They are partly fiberglass.

You have a fiberglass canoe

You are fine with the rapids you want to run.
http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=650919

I'd like to hear from some of the many fine cedar strip builders here. Their boats are not flimsy

I agree with Kim, they are not "flimsy", however,

the rocks ALWAYS win, so assume that if you find a rock, you "may" have to do some repair.

I problem I have with strippers on rocks is they "usually" are made to be a ridgid as possible, and so maybe don't slide over the rocks as well as other designs/materials. And the glass then gets punctured as the wood crushes.

With this said, if you make it, you can repair it. So go paddle it and have fun.

Dan

The double layer is a great move !
I build all of mine that way, sometimes I will use S-glass to add another level of protection..