What is it?

teetogreen

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hello

I am new to to the forum and yesterday I posted a message on another thread instead of starting my own. I am still figuring out how this works. Anyway I had said that I have a canoe that was given to me and it the owners said it came from Belle Isle Michigan they thought. It is slightly longer than 17 feet long and 34 inches wide. It has an outside stem. Other than some rot on both tips I do not think it is all that bad. I would love to identify it and get an idea what year it might be.

Thanks

Chris

Wooden Canoe 004.jpg

Wooden Canoe 005.jpg

Wooden Canoe 006.jpg

Wooden Canoe 007.jpg

Wooden Canoe 008.jpg

It's a Morris. The splayed stem (and impression from the serial number tag) are distintive. If it came off Belle Isle, and has a 36" bow deck and 24" stern deck, it is one of the ones in the style preferred by Belle Isle liveryman C.J. Molitor.

The bow and stern decks look to be the same at 24 inches long if I am measuring them right. All of the trim looks to be Mahogany. Are there alot of these style canoes out there?

Chris

teetogreen said:
Are there alot of these style canoes out there?

This depends on how you define "alot" naturally. There are three Morris canoes currently listed at http://classifieds.wcha.org/ in the classifieds here and one is identified as having "4' mahogany decks." Your Morris with long mahogany decks is not unique. The information at http://www.wcha.org/catalogs/morris/records/morris.htm indicates that Morris issued over 17000 serial numbers which is about the same as the Kennebec and Carleton canoe companies each did. Old Town Canoe issued 50,000 to 100,000 serial numbers as shown at http://www.wcha.org/catalogs/old-town/oldtown_chart.html during roughly the same time period. More information about the Old Town model production is available at http://www.wcha.org/catalogs/old-town/models.html if you are curious.

Morris made some wonderful canoes so have fun with yours.