"walk arounds"

Mark Adams

all wood nut
Hi All,

This thought just occurred to me. I am an avid modeler. I build aircraft and 1/35 armor as well as paint figures. In the modeling world, we have what are called "walk arounds". This is usually a photo essay of a particular aircraft or tank. It covers general layout as well as the differences between variants.

Why not create a database of the various types of canoes? There are constantly requests for pictures of this or that detail on canoes. I know we all have photos stored in out computers of whatever restoration project we have done, are working on, or just pictures we have collected along the way. I get them off eBay, where ever. Michael Grace has a TON! Lets think about centralizing them all.

Food for thought!

Hi Mark,

This is a great idea and similar concepts have been suggested before. The previous efforts have struggled with the details like: how do you organize it, what software tools are best, how do you tag the images so that they can easily be located, who will manage it, where will it be stored, etc. We can add new sections to this forum if you want to have it hosted here and just let everyone add their own canoes. What do you (or anyone else) have in mind?

Benson

Benson,

Take a look at how the OWWM site collects/searches for data.
They are building a library, both pics and catalog scans of any/all old wood working manchinery, a much larger data set then old canoes.

http://www.owwm.com/

Dan

Hi Dan,

You suggested the OWWM site before at http://forums.wcha.org/showthread.php?t=2121 when this question came up a few years ago. It does seem like a good approach although it is not clear what software package they are using and how it is all being managed. The numbers of canoe manufacturers are much smaller so we could easily start right here with the existing forum software. Who wants to be first or is there a volunteer who wants to set up and manage a more sophisticated alternative?

Benson