Shellac - what kind, where to get, etc...

The Canoe Kid

LOVES Wooden Canoes
OK, I'm ready to re-shellac the bottom of my OT Guide.

Thanks for the info on how to repair the patches.

So what kind of shellac should I use? Is it something special?

Where can I get it? Is there a special mix I should use?

The Canoe Kid

As a woodworker, I buy my shellac from places like Woodcraft in the form of flakes. The most important thing about shellac is that it must be fresh. Shellac that is more than 6 months old may not harden properly. Zinser pretty much has the corner on the market in the shellac world. You can buy it at most hardware and paint stores pre mixed in cans. It has some sort of stabilizer in it that extends the shelf life. The catch is that they don't put dates on the cans and you have no way of knowing how old the stuff is. If you want to use the premixed stuff, I suggest you buy it from a place with high turnover. Check it on a piece of scrap. If it dries quickly and hardens without staying tacky, it's probably ok to use. You can chose from either orange shellac or various lighter shades which is pretty much the same stuff with the some of the impurities processed out of it.

The other issue with shellac is that it should be dewaxed. The wax is not really a big problem if you are not overcoating the shellac with another finish. On a canoe bottom, I doubt that the wax would give you much trouble.