Pointy or square stern?

Hector

Hi All,

I have a sailing canoe and I am trying to improve its tacking performance. I am considering transforming the canoe's pointy stern into a square stern. My logic is that a square stern will make the canoe to be closer to a sailboat hull. Someone told me that it will increase the drag, which I will trade for a better turning.

Any experience on that or suggestions?

Thanks!

Hector

I have no experience with cutting off the end of a canoe. My guess is that this would increase the drag and have little effect on the tacking performance. However, I can offer some simpler solutions for tacking. One option is to turn down wind and gibe but you will want to practice this procedure a lot in light winds before attempting it in a stiff breeze. The other alternatives include taking some strong sweep strokes with your paddle (power sailing) to help turn the canoe, holding the boom out on the windward side with your hand (back winding) to push the bow around, turn the rudder in the opposite direction as you drift backwards to push the stern around, or some combination of these. The ideal situation is to find two sheltered coves to use for your turns on either side of some open water. Then you can come about in the calmer waters and fly through the big wind in between. Have fun,

Benson

A sailing canoe is a somewhat different critter than a sailboat, and different techniques and strategies apply. If you want to sail a boat, better to start with a sailboat, you will likely be disappointed with a modified canoe (and will have probably lowered its re-sale value by a lot...)