new to wood strip canoes

jstawz

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hi I am new to this forum and also to wood strip canoes. I am a woodworker (hobbyist..........serious hobbyist) and I want to build a cedar strip canoe. I think I have all the power tools. I've built tables, chairs, cabinets etc and now I want to build a canoe. Basically I would like to know a few things. Am I getting in over my head? Are they difficult to build? I've noticed they are called cedar strip canoes. Can they be built with pine strips since pine is a little cheaper than cedar? I know that there are router bits that can mold the wood strips. Do you guys recommend that you mold the wood yourself or should I purchase a kit with the wood already formed? I hope you guys can answer all my questions. Please have some good news for me because I am very eager to get this project started.

If you're used to basic woodworking and can follow directions, you should be able to build a canoe. Most beginning strip builders have more trouble with the fiberglassing parts of the project than the woodworking part. Not that it's overly difficult to fiberglass a stripper, but since you're working on large expanses of hull using resin that has a limited pot-life and at the same time trying to get a nice, bubble-free clear finish, the glassing days can be kind of high-stress until you get used to working with the stuff.