model differences

jlundgren

Outdoorsman
I'm new with all this so bear with me. I have a 16' 1953 otca model which I bought last summer from an old timer in the southeastern ma. area. I'm right on the North river and have two young boys to enjoy the canoe with, but is one model more stable than the other? A 3 and a 7 year old need all the stability you can get.

Canoe stability is highly subjective but your canoe should be fine. My solution to having two small children in a canoe is to kneel in the middle and have them sit on the floor with one in front of me and one behind me. The rule of thumb is that a wide canoe with a flat bottom and good tumblehome (i.e. inward curve on the sides) will usually feel more stable than a narrow one with a round bottom and no tumblehome. The diagrams at http://www.wcha.org/catalogs/old-town/hull-x-s.gif and dimensions listed at http://www.wcha.org/catalogs/old-town/dimens-1.gif show that your Otca should be reasonably stable. If it doesn't feel stable to you then a longer and wider canoe could improve things. The logical extreme would be a war canoe model as described at http://www.wcha.org/catalogs/old-town/dimens-2.gif with a 34 foot length and 44 inch width. Feel free to reply here if this doesn't answer your question.

Benson

Last edited:
war canoe

the war canoe sounds a bit much, and where do these exist? I'll try your idea on the kids location as soon as I finish restoring this project. I really appreciate your idea.
thanks again,
jeff

Another concept is a canoe with sponsons. I own an eighteen foot Old Town HW with sponsons. Not only will my canoe carry lots of gear (volume and/or weight), it would take quite a bit to capsize her. The only downside to this canoe is that she weighs over 100 pounds, so getting her into the water requires some logistics. However, once in the water, regardless of the conditions of waves or wind, she's a wonder to paddle.