lines and construction details

mariola01

BethlehemBoatWorks
Hi, my name is Martin. I'm a small boat builder in Bethlehem CT. A new client has asked me to do whatever is possible to restore his wood and canvas canoe. It's a 1914 Old Town H.W. model. Eighteen feet long. Unfortunately it was shattered by a fallen tree during a wind storm and also suffers from extensive rot throughout. I'm looking for a set of lines for this boat and also need construction details for the area where the inwales, outwales, stem and deck all meet. The hull is terrifically deformed and I'll need a way to recreate the appropriate amount of rocker in the bottom. I also want to be sure to accurately recapture the trademark Old Town shear line. Any help along these lines (no pun intended) would be tremendously helpful.

17' Carlton H.W.

I have a 1916 17' Carlton H.W. closed gunnel. I'm in the process of restoring it. It has some usual broken ribs (3) and a broken gunnel from remoring the seat :-( Other than that it's in good shape and no rot!

Carlton's and Old Towns were built on the same form. I can take pics of the details you need and email them to you. I know it's a 17', not an 18' but the construction details should be the same as far as the closed gunnel - deck - stem are concerned.

Carlton's and Old Towns were built on the same form.

Actually, they weren't. Carleton Canoe Co. was bought by Old Town in 1910, but OT continued to maintain the seperate identity and construction techniques until 1934 (though Carleton catalogs continued to be published until 1941). Details about this can be found in Sue Audette's book.