fiberglass help

calijames

Hello people. I am new here and in need of some help. I wet out the fiberglass on my 18.5' canoe. I sanded it and went to put a filler coat on today and i had some white spots show through, I wiped it down and cleaned it and they still shown through, There were not many at all. Just a few spots. I went ahead and put a filler coat on it as i did not think they looked that bad though they are disappointing. Can you guys take a look and tell me what you think the problem was/is. Not sure how to post a picture here so if i may i will post a link to were i have the pictures at. . This is the first canoe for me and there will be many more to come.
( update ) the little round ones did not show through the filler coat. The square ones did ;-( any ideas? ot am i being way to picky, It looks good and only noticeable when you within a few feet of it

http://s282.photobucket.com/albums/kk246/calijames/building a canoe/

thank you
CaliJames

I'm no expert, but it looks to me like you squeegee'd too hard,and starved the weave -- took too much resin out of it, leaving air pockets. Hopefully, someone who knows better can clarify this, and give you some tips on how to clarify that...

Does it look better, now that the filler coat is set up?

I can't see the pics but usually white spots/areas are places that don't have resin between the cloth and wood.

I've filled them in the past by drilling a small hole at each end of the starved area, and injected resin in 1 hole till it came out the 2ed. Usually the white "goes away" when the resin fills the cavity.

You might have to do this at several locations to fill a larger area.

I use old syringes for this, they work great.

Dan