"Fay" 1920s (?) Peterborough Canoe

English Rob

Hi all,

I'm a newbie wooden boat owner and just bought this Peterborough which is roughly dated from the 1920s. The family I bought it from reckon they bought it in 1932 but it was second hand then. It's been in England all this time and mainly stored, including 25 years forgotten in a warehouse!

The length is 15'4" and width 31" and it has Peterborough decals on the metal thwart plates and sign of an oval shape being there on the stern deck, so definitely a Peterborough but don't know which model and can't pin down the year of manufacture. Any ideas?

She has a metal strip covered keel and two wooden side running strips, and some kind of protective patch around the keel (which looks original).

Unfortunately the previous owner put VC TAR2 paint (which apparently is an epoxy non-tar paint) on the hull below the water line, on top of thick varnish, all of which I'm just starting to try to remove. They also woodstained the inside of the hull over quite thick varnish. Pretty much all the woodwork seems solid but there's a few small repair patches near the keel, some splitting around the mast hole etc. But overall seems very clean.

Was thinking of stripping it, maybe with Nitromors paint remover, sanding smooth and building it back up, perhaps with a thin layer of fibreglass, then varnish. Anyone done this before and able to advise whether this plan makes sense?

Thanks

Rob (Bedford, England)

Attachments

• Fay 4.jpg
    Fay 4.jpg
    108 KB · Views: 542
  • Fay 1.jpg
    Fay 1.jpg
    90.7 KB · Views: 623
  • Fay 2.jpg
    Fay 2.jpg
    66.3 KB · Views: 644
  • Fay 3.jpg
    Fay 3.jpg
    79.9 KB · Views: 554
  • Fay 5.jpg
    Fay 5.jpg
    148 KB · Views: 575
  • Fay 6.jpg
    Fay 6.jpg
    881.7 KB · Views: 598
Hi Rob,