Do you think this stem is made of Ash?

Mule

Paul Hammarstedt - 8157
Forgive my wood ignorance. I'm a rookie.

Is it obvious to anyone what kind of wood this stem is? Ash? (The canoe is a Racine.)

Thanks for looking!

Cheers,
Paul

PS - I attached an overall shot for grins too.

PPS - If anyone knows best source for mahagony inwales and outwales (I'm in northern Illinois), I'd be mighty grateful. Otherwise the hunt begins soon.

Attachments

• 0739 Bow Stem.jpg
    0739 Bow Stem.jpg
    77.4 KB · Views: 566
  • 0741 Bones 3.jpg
    0741 Bones 3.jpg
    126.2 KB · Views: 509
Racine catalogs specify white oak for stems, so that is probably what your stem is made of. White oak and ash have similar grain patterns, but it is possible to tell them apart with experience.

Thanks Dan!

Your answer reminded me to order catalog CD's.

I've been doing too many things at once; reading "The Wood & Canvas Canoe" by Stelmok/Thurlow, demolishing the canoe, and reading these forums. Can't keep track of mental lists of things to do. Grass didn't get cut either, but who cares about that.

With gratitude,
Paul

Paul,
Schmeling Lumber (815-963-6455) in Rockford may have mahogany in long lengths.....I haven't been there for a while and their stock changes. You may also try "The Hardwood Connection" in Sycamore (815-895-8733).
As I mentioned before you may neet to scarf a couple pieces to get the length you need.
Canoebuildermark or Paul Miller do you have a local source in our area?

Dave, thanks for the tips!

I am going to call you one of these days.....

I know I could (and probably should) scarf the gunwales. They're mostly messed up only on the ends.

But it just seems so wrong to scarf them. Perhaps I need to stifle purist leanings. I do have a talent for making projects like this infinitely more difficult in and effort to maintain originality.