cam or clam cleats

chris pearson

Michigan Canoe Nut
Hi guys. I'm a novice sailor and heres something I want to improve upon. Where specifically do I put a clam or cam cleat on my leeboard thwart? What angle? Obviously I need to be able to switch the mainsheet rope as I switch sides when tacking or adjusting for wind variation. Photos will really help detailing this. I'm sure I''ll learn allot at the assembly too. Your hand gets pretty tired unless you wrap it around something first like the lock down handles for the thwart clamps.
Next question, my sail rig was new old stock right out of the box. The boom is parallel to the gunwales. Shouldn't it be slightly raised at the aft end? Could the factory placement of the gooseneck be too far back? Apologies in advance to Todd, just in case he talked about this in his wonderful book and I missed it!!!!!

How you cleat it depends on how you route your mainsheet, and there are lots of possibilities. Cleats (either cams or clams) have fairly narrow working angles, so you usually need something down at deck level (a block or fairlead) to take the mainsheet as it comes down from the boom and route it to the cleats.

My favorite system is to deaden (secure) the mainsheet aft (to the aft deck, gunwales, a rope traveler, etc.) then run it up to a block fairly far aft on the boom, then along under the boom to a second boom block just behind the mast. From there, the sheet leads down to deck level, through a block attached to the lower mast or mast thwart and aft to the sailor. An open clam cleat (has no built-in fairlead) on either side of the leeboard thwart can be used to cleat it. See drawing below.