1931 Temagami canoe

16dcr91

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hello. I'm currently replacing some planking and ribs on this canoe and as this is my first time attempting any kind of work of this sort, I may have some questions. The first one is what is the usual thickness or a replacement rib. I figure it must be a little thicker than the old dried out ones.

rib thickness

I always make it the same as what is there. I don't consider future swelling/shrinking. most likely it would be 5/16 but 3/8 is possible. Even 1/4" but that's not as likely. Check that the rib isn't made thinner at the gunnel. Some may be but mostly they are the same thickness. Not familiar with Temegami canoes.

Camp Keewaydin is somehow connected to Temagami Canoes, but Temagami Canoes have been around for a long time.
Do a search and you should find a lot of info on them.

They come up for sale on occasion on searches out east.

I don't personally know anything about their construction details.

Dan

If this canoe is from 31’ it would not be from Keewaydin. During Keewaydin’s past 117 years of continuous operation, they have purchased less than 20 canoes from Temagami Canoe Co. and most of those were bought during the years of 1982-1986.

Temagami Canoe was started in 1928 by Bill Smith who I believe had worked for the Peterborough Canoe Co. prior to setting up in T town. As I understand, he was quite the character so you kind of got whatever he felt like building. The older Temagami’s we have worked on (pre 50’s) typically had 3/8 or 5/16 thick ribs that were tapered in thickness the last 6 inches or so. Their canoes are generally well built and the earlier ones have Peterborough like qualities to them. It would be nice to see pictures of yours.

There is really no connection between Keewaydin and Temagami Canoe other than sharing the same zip code and the camp briefly purchasing a few a canoes from them in the 80’s. The two have always been independent of each other.

Last edited: