WCHA Annual Assembly

An annual event bringing together WCHA members from around the world.

2020 WCHA Assembly - July 14-19 at Paul Smith's College, Paul Smiths, New York

Planning for the 2020 WCHA Assembly in Paul Smiths, NY, continues, but health concerns and the State of New York’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic may affect our plans. Like many other universities across the nation and around the world, Paul Smith’s College has suspended in-person classes for the remainder of the Spring 2020 semester, and the State of New York has enacted a ban on large gatherings. Thus, unless things change dramatically in the near future, Assembly 2020 may have to be cancelled. While we are very excited about Assembly 2020, the health and well-being of our members and those we contact remain foremost in our minds. Please continue to monitor this site and look to the upcoming issue of Wooden Canoe for more details.


Wooden Canoe Heritage Association 41st  Annual Assembly, July 14-19th, 2020

Location: Paul Smith’s College of the Adirondacks, Paul Smith’s, New York


Located in the St. Regis Canoe Area: http://www.dec.ny.gov/lands/70572.html

& Adirondack High Peaks: https://www.adirondack.net/hiking/high-peaks/


Theme: Solo Canoes & Remembering Tom MacKenzie


Featured program presentations include:


Solo Canoes and Remembering Tom MacKenzie by Charlie Wilson

Alaskan Mission Hospital by Geoffrey Burke

Fifty Day Youth Canoe Trips by Kate Barrett

My Beautiful Cedar Rib Canoe by Nick Dennis, UK Chapter Head

Five Week Arctic Canoe Trip by Rolf Kraiker

Solo Canoes of Rushton and Contemporaries by Dan Miller

Rushton’s Bucktail in Florida by Michael Grace, WCHA President


As usual, the 2020 Annual Assembly will also include perennial favorites:

Tour of of notable canoes on the Green, construction workshops and demonstrations, children’s program, annual membership meeting, WCHA Store, annual fundraising Raffle & Auction, and the Paddle-by and Salute.


Again this year, our event will be overlapped by the Adirondack Canoe Symposium, so we will be able to enjoy workshops, demonstrations and an exhibition of “Freestyle” canoeing (canoe ballet, often choreographed to music!)


There will be lots of fabulous paddling opportunities and local attractions in the beautiful Adirondack Region of New York State.

Registration opens on April 20, 2020!

Find the program of events and registration forms on the WCHA website,  wcha.org/annual-assembly, beginning on April 20th.

The program and registration form will also be included in the Spring 2020 issue of Wooden Canoe, which will be mailed in mid-May.


For more information, contact Rob Stevens, Annual Assembly Program Coordinator, robstevens7777@gmail.com

or Annie Burke, Executive Director,  annie@wcha.org , 603-323-8992



See photos of the 2019 Assembly here:


Assembly overviews




Annual Paddle-by & Salute:




Photo Credits; Jim & Betsy Wilson and Mike Livdahl


Assembly Programs

Here are the 2019 Assembly Program Descriptions and Schedule.

A Glimpse of Assembly


The Jules and Dorothy Wiebel Award

The Jules and Dorothy Wiebel Award is made possible through a generous donation by Julie Wiebel Agar in memory of Jules and Dorothy Wiebel, longtime members of the WCHA and regular attendees at the Assembly. This award honors a volunteer who has participated in Assembly over the years, and who, through efforts above and beyond the call of duty, has made the Assembly experience a very special event for others.

Award winners must have been an Assembly volunteer for at least five years; must have provided a unique contribution that enhanced the quality of Assemblies through contributions of services, knowledge, volunteerism, or leadership that furthers the mission of WCHA; cannot have been a member of the Board of Directors for at least three previous years; and must be nominated by five WCHA members.

The award is not necessarily given annually, but only in those years when a nominee is put forward. Nominations should be sent to Executive Director Annie Burke (P.O. Box 117, Tamworth, NH 03886; annie@wcha.org).

Past Winners

  • Karen MacKenzie (2008)
  • Hugh Clark (2008)
  • Jay Boyer (2009)
  • Janet Isabelle (2012)
  • Dick Christie (2013)
  • Tom MacKenzie (2014)
  • Steve Lapey (2015)